This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. More Info

Mary, Queen of Scots

Alhambra - Keswick

£8.10

Date
  • Fri 1 Feb
  • Sat 2 Feb
  • Sun 3 Feb
  • Mon 4 Feb
  • Tue 5 Feb
  • Wed 6 Feb
  • Thu 7 Feb
  • Fri 8 Feb
  • Sat 9 Feb
  • Mon 11 Feb
  • Wed 13 Feb
  • Thu 14 Feb
  • Fri 15 Feb
  • Sun 17 Feb
  • Mon 18 Feb
  • Wed 20 Feb
  • Thu 21 Feb
Time
  • 20:00

Synopsis

Mary, Queen of Scots explores the turbulent life of the charismatic Mary Stuart. Queen of France at 16 and widowed at 18, Mary defies pressure to remarry. Instead, she returns to her native Scotland to reclaim her rightful throne. But Scotland and England fall under the rule of the compelling Elizabeth 1. Each young Queen beholds her "sister" in fear and fascination. Rivals in power and in love, and female regents in a masculine world, the two must decide how to play the game of marriage versus independence. Determined to rule as much more than a figurehead, Mary asserts her claim to the English throne, threatening Elizabeth's sovereignty. Betrayal, rebellion, and conspiracies within each court imperil both thrones - and change the course of history.

Rating:
15
Advisory:
strong violence, sex, sexual violence
Released:
02/11/2018
Duration:
112 min
Genres:
Drama
Director:
Josie Rourke
Writer:
Beau Willimon
Starring:
Jack Lowden, Martin Compston, Joe Alwyn, Saoirse Ronan, Margot Robbie
Alhambra - Keswick Logo

Alhambra - Keswick

Alhambra Cinema, 36 St John's Street, CA12 5AG, Keswick