Blinded by the Light

Alhambra - Keswick
£8.10
  • Fri 23 Aug
  • Sat 24 Aug
  • Sun 25 Aug
  • Mon 26 Aug
  • Tue 27 Aug
  • Wed 28 Aug
  • Thu 29 Aug
  • Fri 30 Aug
  • Sat 31 Aug
  • Sun 1 Sep
  • Mon 2 Sep
  • Tue 3 Sep
  • Wed 4 Sep
  • Thu 5 Sep
  • 21:00

Balcony seats only, stalls being refurbished. Please contact cinema if you have accessibility issues.


Synopsis

"Blinded by the Light" is a joyful story of courage, love, hope, family and the unique ability of music to lift the human spirit. The film tells the story of Javed (Viveik Kalra) a British teen of Pakistani descent, growing up in the town of Luton, England, in 1987. Amidst the racial and economic turmoil of the times, he writes poetry as a means to escape the intolerance of his hometown and the inflexibility of his traditional father. But when a classmate introduces him to the music of The Boss, Javed sees parallels to his working-class life in Springsteen's powerful lyrics. As Javed discovers a cathartic outlet for his own pent-up dreams, he also begins to find the courage to express himself in his own unique voice.

Rating:
12A
12A CertificateFilms classified 12A have been deemed appropriate for viewers of twelve and over. However, they can also be seen by younger children - provided they are accompanied by an adult who has deemed the film appropriate viewing for that child. In such cases, IFCO strongly recommends that parents/guardians make informed decisions by accessing the consumer advice available on this website.
Advisory:
racist language and behaviour, moderate bad language
Released:
14/08/2019
Duration:
114 min
Genres:
Comedy Drama
Director:
Gurinder Chadha
Writer:
Paul Mayeda Berges, Gurinder Chadha
Starring:
Kulvinder Ghir, Aaron Phagura, Dean-Charles Chapman, Viveik Kalra, Meera Ganatra
Alhambra - Keswick Logo

Alhambra - Keswick

CA12 5AG, CA12 5AG, Keswick See Map